Tip: Don't accidentally distribute documents containing tracked changes! [IPBiz: duh!]In Word 2002 and 2003, Tools > Options..."/>
ADVERTISEMENT



Google       

Home -> Law Blog Directory -> Patent Law Blogs -> IPBiz

OR PHONE (866) 635-1838 for Bankruptcy Help, (866) 635-6190 for Divorce,
(866) 635-2689 for Personal Injury or (866) 635-9402 for Criminal Defense

Find a Local Lawyer

Bankruptcy (866) 635-1838
Divorce (866) 635-6190
Personal Injury (866) 635-2689
Criminal Defense (866) 635-9402

Bookmark

Patent Law

: IPBiz

Tracking changes on Word?

By Lawrence B. Ebert, Esq.

ADVERTISEMENTS
Running Word on a MacBook, LBE has found a number of problems with the "track changes" feature. One includes a failure of the software to actually distinguish changes made by multiple reviewers. Anybody else see this problem?

From ShaunKelly.com -->


Tip: Don't accidentally distribute documents containing tracked changes! [IPBiz: duh!]

In Word 2002 and 2003, Tools > Options. On the Security tab, make sure you have ticked two important boxes.
Tick the "Warn before printing, saving or sending a file that contains tracked changes or comments" box.
Tick the "Make hidden markup visible when opening or saving" box.
Turning these off is akin to removing the battery from the smoke alarm in your house.
Q: I want to hide the tracked changes in my document. How do I turn off the display of tracked changes?

How to hide (but not delete) track changes

There are several ways to do this, depending on what you need:

In Word 2002 and 2003, on the Reviewing toolbar, choose Final. This displays your document as if you had accepted all the tracked changes in the document. It hides (but does not remove) the tracked changes.
In Word 2002 and 2003, on the Reviewing toolbar, choose Original. This displays your document as if you had rejected all the tracked changes in the document. It hides (but does not remove) the tracked changes.
In earlier versions of Word, Tools > Track Changes > Highlight Changes. Un-tick Highlight Changes on Screen. This displays your document as if you had accepted all the tracked changes. It hides (but does not remove) the tracked changes.
But... if you turn off the display of tracked changes, it doesn't mean they're not there. The tracked changes are just hidden. Anyone could open your document and choose to view your tracked changes. To remove the tracked changes from your document, read on...

How to remove tracked changes

Q: How do I delete tracked changes from my document?

To delelete a tracked change, either accept it or reject it.

Q: How do I accept or reject one tracked change?

To accept one tracked change in Word 2002 or Word 2003, click within the change and then on the Reviewing toolbar, click the Accept Change button (it's the one with the blue tick). Or, right-click on the tracked change and choose Accept Insertion or Accept Deletion or Accept Format Change etc.
To reject (ie delete) one tracked change in Word 2002 or Word 2003, on the Reviewing toolbar, click the Reject Change button (it's the one with the red cross). Or, right-click on the tracked change and choose Reject Insertion or Reject Deletion or Reject Format Change etc.
In Word 2000 and earlier, Tools > Track Changes > Accept or Reject Changes. Click one of the Find buttons (with the green arrow) to go through the changes one by one. Accept or reject the change.
Q: How do I accept or reject all tracked changes in the document in one step?

To accept all changes in Word 2002 or Word 2003:
on the Reviewing toolbar, hover over the Accept Change button (the one with the blue tick). Click on the arrow you see to the right of the button. Choose Accept all Changes in Document.
To reject (or delete) all changes in Word 2002 or Word 2003:
on the Reviewing toolbar, hover over the Reject Change button (the one with the red cross). Click on the arrow you see to the right of the button. Choose Reject all Changes in Document.
In Word 2000 and earlier, Tools > Track Changes > Accept or Reject Changes. You can choose to accept or reject all the changes in the document.
How to reinstate the functionality from Word 97 and Word 2000 in Word 2002 or Word 2003

If you have Word 2002 or 2003, and you liked the old Accept or Reject changes box, you can reinstate it. A sensible place to put this button is on the Reviewing toolbar. Tools > Customize. Click the Toolbars tab. Make sure that Reviewing is ticked. Now, click the Commands tab. In the Categories list, choose All Commands. In the Commands list, find ToolsReviewRevisions. Drag it to the Reviewing toolbar. Click Close to close the Customize dialog. There will now be a new button on the Reviewing toolbar called Accept or Reject Changes. If you're later prompted to save normal.dot, say yes.
Printing tracked changes

Q: How do I print out my document showing the tracked changes?

Word 2002 and 2003: File > Print. In the "Print What" box, choose Document showing Markup.

Word 2002 and before: Tools > Track Changes > Highlight Changes. Tick Highlight Changes in Printed Document.

Q: How do I print out my document without showing the tracked changes?

Word 2002 and 2003: File > Print. In the "Print What" box, choose Document.

Word 2002 and before: Tools > Track Changes > Highlight Changes. Un-tick Highlight Changes in Printed Document

Q: How do I print a list of the tracked changes in my document?

Word 2002 and 2003: File > Print. In the "Print What" box, choose List of Markup.

That functionality is not available in earlier versions of Word. But in earlier versions, you can print just the comments. File > Print. In the "Print What" box, choose Comments.

Working with more than one author or reviewer: Who did what?

Tip: Terminology trap!
Once upon a time, Microsoft invented "Track Changes". "Authors" put "changes" into their documents.
More recently, "Reviewers" make "revisions" to their documents. And "revisions" are one kind of "markup".
So, in Word 2002 and 2003, you display the work of a "Reviewer", but you may do so by choosing the colour "By Author".
Q: How do I see which changes were made by which author (also known as a reviewer)?

If several authors have reviewed the document while Track Changes was on, then you can identify the author (or reviewer) in several ways:

Hover the mouse over the tracked change. A balloon will appear that shows you the name of the author.
On the Reviewing toolbar, click the Reviewing Pane button. You can now see a pane at the bottom of the screen that identifies the author of each change.
In Word 2002 and Word 2003, if you are using balloons to display tracked changes, hover the mouse over the balloon.
Q: How do I display each author's changes in a different colour?

Tools > Options. Click the Track Changes tab. In any of the Color boxes, choose "By Author".

Q: How does Word choose which colour to allocate to which author?

You can choose to display tracked changed in any of 16 colours. But if you want Word to display different reviewers' revisions in different colours (that is, if you choose to display using the "By Author" color), then Word only provides 8 colours with which to distinguish authors.

In theory, Word allocates colours to reviewers in the following order: red, blue, green, violet, dark red, teal, dark yellow and grey. For the 9th and subsequent reviewers of a document, Word cycles through the colours again. But in practice, as reviewers come and go (as their revisions are accepted or rejected), the allocation of colours to reviewers ends up, in effect, random.

You can test this out by changing the user's name at Tools > Options > User Information, turning on tracked changes and making some changes to your document.

Q: Can I allocate a specific colour to each author?

No. Word allocates colours to authors (who are also called reviewers).

Q: If Fred's revisions are shown in red on my machine, will they also be red on someone else's machine?

Maybe, maybe not. Don't rely on any one author's revisions being displayed in a particular colour from day to day, or from machine to machine. Word likes to be creative, and you can't control its creative urges!

Q: Where does Word get the author's name from?

Word attributes a tracked change to the name of the author specified at Tools > Options > User Information.

Q: How do I display only the changes (or revisions) made by one author (or reviewer)?

In Word 2002 or 2003, on the Reviewing toolbar, Show > Reviewers, and tick or un-tick names to choose the reviewer whose changes you want to see.

There is no equivalent functionality in earlier versions of Word.

Security issues with tracking changes

Q: I've heard that using track changes is a security threat. Is that right?

Well... yes and no. Electricity is powerful, and dangerous. Just don't go sticking your finger in the power outlet. Using Track Changes is powerful, and dangerous. Just don't email or publish documents containing tracked changes you wouldn't want the world to see.

Unfortunately lots of people have made this mistake. Don't be like one of these people.

A reasonably balanced overview of security issues and track changes by Donna Payne was published by law.com in August 2006.

Q: How can I tell if there are Tracked Changes in my document?

In Word 2002 and Word 2003, on the Reviewing toolbar, click the Next button (it's the one with the blue arrow). If the message box says "The document contains no comments or tracked changes", then there are no comments or tracked changes. Otherwise, the cursor will move to the first tracked change in the document.
In Word 2000 and earlier, Tools > Track Changes > Accept or Reject Changes. Click one of the Find buttons (with the green arrow).
Q: How can I make sure that Word always displays tracked changes when I open a document.

In Word 2003, Tools > Options > Security. Tick "Make hidden markup visible when opening or saving."

This functionality isn't available in earlier versions of Word.

Q: Can Word warn me before I email a document containing tracked changes?

In Word 2003 and Word 2002, Tools > Options > Security. Tick "Warn before printing, saving or sending a file that contains tracked changes or comments".

This functionality isn't available in earlier versions of Word.

Q: I want to send my document outside the company. I want to leave tracked changes in the document, but I don't want anyone to see who made the tracked changes or when they were made. How do I do that?

Before Word 2003, you can't. The author (or reviewer) information and the date information are permanently attached to the revision when the revision was tracked. You can't change them, even in macro code.

In Word 2003, Tools > Options > Security. Tick the box "Remove personal information from file properties on save." In spite of the name, this does more than just remove information in the file properties. If this box is ticked, Word removes the name of the author of a tracked change, and it removes the date and time that the change was made when you save your document. But it leaves the tracked change itself. All tracked changes and comments will be now attributed to an anonymous "Author".

Q: How can I be absolutely sure that there is no tracked changes information left in my document?

One way to do this is to use Microsoft's Remove Hidden Tool. You can download the Office 2003/XP Add-in: Remove Hidden Data tool. However, be aware of the Known issues with the Remove Hidden Data tool.

What other kinds of information might be saved in my document?

Your documents might contain various kinds of hidden information that could compromise your security. Microsoft uses the term "metadata" (that is, data about the data) to refer to this kind of information. Here are links to information about how to minimize metadata in your documents:

Word 97: Microsoft knowledge base article 223790

Word 2000: Microsoft knowledge base article 237361

Word 2002: Microsoft knowledge base article 290945

Word 2003: Microsoft knowledge base article 825576

How to copy text containing tracked changes

Q: How do I copy text to another document without copying the track changes?

In the donor document, turn on Track Changes (ensure that TRK on the status bar is dark).

In the recipient document, turn off Track Changes (ensure that TRK on the status bar is dimmed).

Now copy and paste.

Q: How do I copy text to another document with the tracked changes?

In the donor document, turn off Track Changes (ensure that TRK on the status bar is dimmed).

In the recipient document, turn off Track Changes (ensure that TRK on the status bar is dimmed).

Now copy and paste.

However, Clare discovered that if you have a table containing tracked changes, and you select only the table, then the tracked changes won't copy into the new document.

The workaround is to select a paragraph before or after the table as well as the table itself. Make sure Track Changes is turned off, and then copy. Now, the tracked changes will copy along with the text.

Other issues with track changes

Q: When I use Tracked Changes the numbering of my captions gets mixed up. Caption numbering seems to skip some numbers. How do I stop that?

If track changes is on, and you delete a figure caption, Word marks the caption for deletion. It waits for you to accept or reject that change before it really deletes the text from your document. So while track changes is on, the numbering appears to be wrong. When you think about it, Word is doing exactly what you would want. When you accept or reject all the changes, do ctrl-a then press F9. That will update all fields in the document and the caption numbers will be fixed.

Full post as published by IPBiz on September 23, 2008 (boomark / email).

Bloggers, promote your law blog by nominating your blog for inclusion in USLaw.com's Law Blog Directory and RSS Reader. Benefits described.
Lawsuits and Settlements

Related Searches

























































































































US Law
#1 Online Legal Resource













Your Blog Subscriptions
Subscribe to blogs

10,000+ Law Job Listings
Lawyer . Police . Paralegal . Etc
Earn a law-related degree
Are you the author of this blog? Adding USLaw.com to your Blogroll increases relevance. You qualify to display a USLaw Network badge.
Suggest changes to this blog's description or nominate another for inclusion. Register for updates.


Practice Area
Zip Code:

Contact a Lawyer Now!






0.0024 secs (from cache 11/06/26 01:14:43)